October 2017 Income

moneytree1-780x400

Hello everyone Happy Halloween. It’s time for my favourite post, today I will be sharing with you how many dividends I received in October. If feels like I just wrote my September post the other day where is the time going? October was a good month for me I hope it was for you as well. This month saw me receive dividends from 15 stocks and 1 ETF, including 4 today to finish off the month.

My portfolio consists of two accounts my Tax Free Savings Account (TFSA) and my Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP). In October I received $399.38 I was so so close to $400.

Joey So Close

A couple reasons why I missed out was because of currency exchange from Algonquin Power & Utilities dividend and because my ETF lowered it’s payout. I can’t really complain collecting $399 is pretty darn good. For my TFSA account I received $116.08 and my RRSP received $283.30.

TFSA

Inter Pipeline $17.87
Boardwalk Real Estate Investment Trust $17.63
Chorus Aviation $17.28
ZCL Composites Inc. $15.24
The Keg Royalties Income Fund $15.24
Artis Real Estate Investment Trust $13.95
Boston Pizza Royalties Fund $12.31
Corus Entertainment $6.56

In October I received $116.08 compared to $99.30 in October 2016 an increase of $16.78. I received more this year by making additional investments in Chorus Aviation, Boardwalk REIT and a dividend increase from ZCL Composites Inc.

RRSP

BCE $78.93
TransCanada $63.75
Telus $49.25
Algonquin Power & Utilities $44.67
BMO US Dividend ETF $29.50
Pizza Pizza Royalty Corp $16.76
NorthWest Company $0.32
Leon’s Furniture $0.12

I received $283.38 this compared to 2016 when I received $280.90 I was able to grow my income $2.48. This was achieved by dividend increases from BCE, TransCanada, Telus and Algonquin Power & Utilities. I should point out that with the increases my income increase was small because last year I held JP Morgan and received $56.20, I sold the stock last November.

2016 vs 2017 Dividends

I am quite happy to see another month of growth. I always want to improve my results, my income this month compared to 2016 increased by $19.15.

2017 Dividend Goal

My march toward $4,000 continues I am now just $379.49 away from achieving my goal. So happy to see this. I am also happy to report that this month I surpassed my 2016 total with two months to spare.

Dividend Increases

  • On October 16th Fortis increased their dividend 6.25% to $0.425 from $0.40 per share.

Buys & Sells

No buys or sells for me this month I sat back and collected those dividends.

Well guys that wraps up my October income report. I hope you all had a great month. Please feel free to let me know how you made out this month, I always enjoy reading your comments.

Halloween

Thanks for reading

Matthew

28 thoughts on “October 2017 Income

  1. Always nice to have an increase. Good work.
    One question. Based on whats in the RSP, I would have expected a greater increase than the $2.48. That’s less than 1%. BCE raised 5%, T- 7%, TRP 8%, AQN 10%. I don’t own the BMO div ETF but I see thats up by 6%. PZA is flat. I know the USD was down a bit, from 1.325 to 1.28ish, so that’s not enough to cancel out all the increases. What am I missing?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Ed thanks for pointing that out I forgot to point out that I didn’t have a $56 dividend from JP Morgan which I sold last November that is why the income is only $2.48. I will update my post.

      Like

  2. Happy Halloween! Congrats on the milestone. I passed up last years dividend total last month. Anything more from here till December just goes into breaking more records. I had that exact same reaction too when I missed a mark by pennies last month. Oh well it is still growth. And plenty more to come. Thanks for the update.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Matthew,

    close to 400$ in October (which is an awfully slow off month for me) is pretty good! Congrats! And your overall progress in 2017 with closing in on 4000$ for the the year is awesome too. I hope to reach about 3700$ till the end of December…we’ll see.

    Keep it up!
    DividendSolutions

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice work matt next quarter you should hit that 400 mark. Thats awesome. Killing it. I added algonquin to my portfolio looking forward to their dividends.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Why not sell some 3 month or less out of the money cover calls to increase your income?

    I do that for my stocks as I collect both div and option premium, and if the stock rises too much and get called away that leaves more money to pick up other stocks with beaten down technicals.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Another solid update. Always good to post a year over year gain. Whether you buy/sell or just sit back and do nothing as you October passed you still managed to collect a tidy passive sum. Looks like your goal is well within reach. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment