August 2017 Income

moneytree1-780x400

Hey folks welcome to my August income post. Wow can’t believe we are into September already where has the time gone? The kids are back in school and summer pretty much has come to an end. Well let’s get to the fun shall we.

My investment portfolio consists of two accounts I have a Tax Free Savings Account (TFSA) and a Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP). In August I received a total of $289.40 in dividends, $100.84 in my TFSA and $188.56 in my RRSP.

Let’s now take a look at which companies paid me in August.

TFSA

Inter Pipeline $17.87
Boardwalk Real Estate Investment Trust $17.63
Chorus Aviation $17.28
The Keg Royalties Income Fund $15.24
Artis Real Estate Investment Trust $13.95
Boston Pizza Royalties Fund $12.31
Corus Entertainment $6.56

RRSP

Royal Bank of Canada $66.99
Bank of Montreal $63.99
BMO US Dividend ETF $31.29
Pizza Pizza Royalty Corp. $16.76
Potash Corp. $5.84
Alimenation Couche-Tard $3.78

2017 vs 2016 Dividends

I am down slightly from last August due to the fact that Proctor & Gamble is no longer in my portfolio. However the dividend increases from my other stocks have narrowed the gap.

2017 Dividends

So through the first eight months of the year I have received $2,817.86 in dividends. I am just 1,185.14 away from reaching my goal of $4,000 by year end.

Buy/Sell

It was a quiet month for me in this area I did not make any transactions I sat back and collected my dividends.

counting money

Increases/Decreases

In August I received one dividend increase from Royal Bank of Canada and that occurred on August 23rd. The dividend was raised to $0.91 per quarter from $0.87.

 

Extra Post

Hi guys just wanted to let you know that I was interviewed for a post by My Own Advisor it is called Big Problems and Big Opportunities For Millennial Investors please go check it out if you haven’t already.

I hope everyone had a great August. Thank you for reading I appreciate it.

Thanks

Matthew

16 thoughts on “August 2017 Income

  1. Very nice month Matthew! Congrats on the great progress. Love the fact that you are making such great progress towards knocking out your goals. Man soon you will blow past the $300 mark and never look back for this month of the quarter.

    Keep it up.

    Bert

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoyed reading your interview on My Own Advisor and thought that you are making great progress to achieving your financial goals. It’s tough being a millennial trying to invest when there are so many challenges that you need to face.

    I enjoy tracking my dividends too and I had been doing it for almost ten years, but I only do it every quarter. My kids are taking up most of my time now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Leo it was a lot of fun doing that interview. You are right there are so many challenges out there. I started tracking my dividends right away I enjoy seeing what I receive each month and by whom. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

