July 2017 Income

moneytree1-780x400

Hello everybody and thank you for reading this post. Wow we are already into August, 2017 is flying by way to fast in my opinion. I hope all of you had a great month of July collecting lots of dividends. I must say to you all that I am really glad to be a dividend investor and wish I chose this path much sooner in my investing life. I have been blessed so far this year to have year-over-year growth in six of the seven months this year compared to 2016. That one miss was by less than $5, I attribute my success this year to investing in companies that regularly raise their dividends.

My portfolio consists of two accounts the Tax Free Savings Account (TFSA) and the Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP).  July saw me crack the $400 mark for the third time this year. I received income from 15 companies and 1 ETF. In my TFSA account I received $116.08. My RRSP account received $286.03.

TFSA

Inter Pipeline $17.87
Boardwalk Real Estate Investment Trust $17.63
Chorus Aviation $17.28
ZCL Composites Inc. $15.24
The Keg Royalties Income Fund $15.24
Artis Real Estate Investment Trust $13.95
Boston Pizza Royalties Fund $12.31
Corus Entertainment $6.56

July saw me receive income from every investment I own in the account.

RRSP

BCE $78.93
TransCanada $63.75
Telus $49.25
Algonquin Power & Utilities $45.61
BMO US Dividend ETF $31.29
Pizza Pizza Royalty Corp $16.76
NorthWest Company $0.32
Leon’s Furniture $0.12

Yearly Dividends

I increased my income in July by $34.78 compared to July 2016. Dividend raises and new purchases were the cause of the increase.

2017 Dividend & Goal

As you all know that I have set a goal of wanting to reach $4,000 in dividends in 2017. As we enter the 8th month of the year I am just $1,471.54 away from achieving the milestone.

Dividend Increases/Decreases

It was a quiet month on this front for me. None of my companies announced any increases or decreases.

Buys/Sells

July saw me make one purchase:

  • On July 7th I purchased 33 shares in Alimentation Couche-Tard

 

So that’s a wrap for my July income report. A pretty successful month in my opinion. I hope all of you did great as well. Please let me know how you did.

Thank you for reading 🙂

Matthew

23 thoughts on “July 2017 Income

  1. Dear Matthew,

    I too wish that I had become a dividend investor sooner. Better late than never 🙂

    This month was my highest month ever and I almost passed another 1,000 (less than $12 short!). I’ve recently started tracking my growth from last year (same month) as well as the corresponding month in the previous quarter (so I compare April to January).

    I’m looking to rearrange my royalties and REITs into my non-taxable accounts before 2018. I bought them before I knew about ROCs and distributions. I just thought they all paid dividends.

    Question, I hold A&W as well as Boston Pizza in a taxable account. If I couldn’t sell both, wouldn’t it be better to sell Boston Pizza as A&W does give me a ROC and capital gains are taxed at a lower rate than Boston Pizza’s distributions (which are taxed as income)? If I’m not making sense, it’s because I’m confused (which I am anyways 😉 ).

    I like to know what my income and tax owing is going to be (I calculate it in January when I do the majority of “maintenance” on my accounts) and the above is really messing with my numbers.

    Really enjoy your blog.

    Sarah.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sarah thank you for reading my post. Also a big congrats on achieving your highest month to date. I love hearing other people succeeding.

      In regards to your question I don’t know much about taxable accounts I’m sorry. But that being said Boston Pizza would be the idle sell if capital gains are taxed at a lower rate compared to BPs distributions. I can pose your question to a couple of other bloggers would would know if you would like me to??

      Thanks again Sarah

      Matthew

      Like

      1. Dear Matthew,

        I would really appreciate it if you would ask around.

        I’m new to the FI/RE community and am always looking for people, books, websites or other resources that make me think… differently. It appears that the Canadian community is small (er, than the USA).

        Besos Sarah.

        Like

  2. Nothing beats the feeling of getting paid for owning a stock. I am at a point that I am able to purchase more stocks with my dividend income on a monthly basis. It’s really amazing to see the power of compound interest working for you.

    The TSX has done almost next to nothing in the first seven months. I am hoping that for the rest of the year, we will get a 4% to 5% appreciation to savage our investment year.

    Keep on going, you will get to $4k in dividend income real soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice work matt. Thats a great income! Why dont you hold any individual us stocks in your rrsp? I see you have that etf which is great but i feel for individual stocks the us has it made. Nice buy on aliment coucharde ive eyed them a couple times.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I don’t hold any US stocks at the moment because I thought with the exchange rate it made them too expensive for me, now that the dollar is going up I may add some US stocks to my rrsp.

      Like

  4. Congrats Matthew on another 400 month. That is rock solid !! We had our best month year to date and will post our income mid August. We pasted our April income which was 1500$ so we are excited about that.

    Keep up the growth !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

