May 2017 Income Report

Hello everyone and welcome to my May income report. This is my favourite post to write as I get to share with you how I did in the past month. The month of May was a busy one for my portfolio I had a couple of buys and some dividend increases from my investments. My income was down slightly from last May that is due to my decision to sell Proctor & Gamble last year.

My portfolio currently consists of 25 stocks and 1 ETF, they are split into two accounts the Tax Free Savings Account (TFSA) and the Registered Retirement Savings Plan (RRSP). I received $284.35 in May, my TFSA account received $100.84 and my RRSP account received $183.51.

TFSA

Inter Pipeline $17.87
Boardwalk Real Estate Investment Trust $17.63
Chorus Aviation $17.28
The Keg Royalties Income Fund $15.24
Artis Real Estate Investment Trust $13.95
Boston Pizza Royalties Fund $12.31
Corus Entertainment $6.56

RRSP

Royal Bank of Canada $66.99
Bank of Montreal $62.48
BMO US Dividend ETF $31.29
Pizza Pizza Royalty Corp $16.76
Potash Corp $5.99

2016 vs 2017 Dividends

As you can see compared to last May my income decreased by $4.18. The drop was due to my selling Proctor & Gamble shares last year. I almost got my income back up to the same level thanks to dividend increases from several stocks and a couple of acquisitions.

Dividends Year to Date

In the first five months of 2017 I have received a total of $1,764.16. I have set a goal this year of receiving $4,000. In June if all goes well I should receive over $300 and with June ending the first half of 2017 that would put me on the path to achieving my goal.

Buys/Sells

I made two purchases in May.

  1.  May 9th purchased 23 shares of Power Corp (ticker : POW) @$31
  2. May 11th purchased 25 shares of Enbridge (ticker : ENB) @$54.85

 

Increases/Decreases

May has busy for me in this area, I received 4 increases.

  1. May 4th Enbridge raised the dividend 5% to $0.61 from $0.583. This is the second raise from Enbridge this year.
  2. May 9th Telus raised their dividend to $0.4925 from $0.48.
  3. May 9th Power Corp raised their dividend 7% to $0.3585 from $0.3350
  4. May 24th Bank of Montreal raised their dividend 2.3% to $0.90 from $0.88

 

So that wraps up my May income report. I hope you all had a great month and received lots of dividends. I would like to thank you for reading I appreciate your support.

Take care

Matthew

10 thoughts on “May 2017 Income Report

  1. I currently own a small quantity of Enbridge shares and I wanted to buy more by selling put options with a strike price of $50 per share. It will expire in January 2018, I am hoping to buy it cheaper than $50 per share.

    It’s great to get dividend increases for stocks that you already own. Hopefully, we will have a good month in June with more increase.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

