2017 Goal Review #1

Hi everyone hope all is well with you. Today’s post is going to be about reviewing the goals that I set for myself back in January. If you would like to read that post please click here. This is only the second year that I have set goals and thought it would be a good idea to do quarterly reviews to help keep me accountable. This year I decided to focus a bit more on personal finance, I am attempting to improve my finances by saving more and eliminating debt. Don’t worry though I added a couple investing goals 🙂

2017 goals image

So let’s get started. FYI all numbers below are as of April 1st.

Personal Finance

  • Eliminate $3,818 loan
  • Increase savings to $6,000

This year I set two goals for personal finance, first I wanted to eliminate my loan of $3,818. I have $1,247.03 remaining so I have paid off 67% of the loan. I am hoping to have the debt gone by the end of April as I will receive my income tax return and get paid twice by my main employer.

My second goal was to have an emergency fund of $6,000. At the start of the year I only had $2,500 set aside in case of an emergency and I don’t feel comfortable with that. Well folks about a week after I wrote about my 2017 Goals I picked up a part-time job. With the new job I will achieve my goal rather quickly that is why I am going to increase my goal to $10,000. As of  April first I had increased my savings to $4,333.20. Another way I am building up my savings is by getting another credit card. In March I signed up for the Tangerine MasterCard Cash Back card where I will get three categories (Gas, Groceries, Restaurants etc…) of 2% cash back and each month that will be deposited into a savings account.

Portfolio/Investing

  • Invest $4,000
  • Receive $4,000 in dividends

My first goal was to invest $4,000 this year so far I have invested $700. Once my loan is paid off I will be able to put more money towards investing. My second goal was to receive $4,000 in dividends, last year my goal was to receive $3,500 and I achieved that so I decided to try and crack the $4k barrier. So far in 2017 I have received $1,075.99 at the moment I am on track so fingers crossed 🙂 If my investments continue to raise their dividends I believe I can reach my goal.

Blog

  • Have 15,000 page views
  • Have 30 followers

I set a couple of goals for this blog. First try and get 15,000 page views so far I have received only 3,015 views averaging about 1,000 per month leaving me 3k short so I need to pick up the pace. For my second goal I have been having much better success, at the beginning of the year I had 6 followers and I have since gained 13 for a total of 19. Thank you to all who follow I appreciate it.

Twitter

  • Have 1,500 followers

I thought I would add a social media goal this year so I am attempting to have 1,500 by the end of the year. At the beginning of 2017 I had 788 followers, at the end of March that had increased to 981 for a gain of 193. Thanks for following everybody. If you would like to follow me on Twitter please click here.

That wraps up my 2017 goals review, I would like to thank everyone for reading. Please share if you like the post. I hope everyone is on track with their goals this year.

Thanks again take care

Matthew

6 thoughts on “2017 Goal Review #1

  1. Hi Matthew — seems like you’re doing really well working towards your goals! I find it interesting that you’ve set goals for things like page views and followers. To me, that feels like something that would frustrate me, because I look for a more direct relationship between effort and goal. Anyway, all the best with your 2017 goals and keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the nice comment. The page views and followers goals if I get them great but I am not going to stress about them. What I truly care about are the personal finance and investing goals. Thanks for reading my post I appreciate it.

      Like

  2. Good work Matthew! Great to see a few things here: first that you’re almost out of debt! I’m fighting that myself and once it is done it is going to be AWESOME!! So I understand your pursuit! Second, that you increased your goal once you realized you could stretch it even further. Way to go!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

